Enrichment and conversion capacity by bloc
Where the world's separative work and UF6 conversion sit, Western against Russian and Chinese, built against planned, and against what the reactor fleet needs. Every site figure carries what it is (a licence, a nameplate, a WNA assessment of a state operator) and the date it was read; sites that publish no figure are counted as undisclosed, never estimated. Below the capacity view, the HALEU ledger tracks who has produced, licensed, scheduled or planned high-assay material at each stage between a centrifuge and a loadable core. The listed companies are on the fuel-cycle stocks page; the market-share diagram is on the supply chain page.
Enrichment capacity by bloc
million SWU per year. Solid bars are known built capacity (disclosed sites plus cited national totals); hatched extensions are planned additions, never added into the built figure; dots mark the 2025 reactor requirement of each bloc.
Russian share and the statutory exit
Russia, share of known enrichment capacity
43%
WNA assessment of Rosatom sites, read 2026-10-06
Russia, share of known conversion capacity
20%
Seversk, WNA assessment, read 2026-10-06
US waiver caps on Russian LEU imports, kgU
- 2024: 476,536
- 2025: 470,376
- 2026: 464,183
- 2027: 459,083
- from 2028-01-01: 0
Monthly customs flows against those caps are on the import monitor; the ban, its waivers and the DOE enrichment awards are on the policy ledger.
HALEU supply ledger
four different numbers per row; none of the columns is summed| Program | Stage | Band | Demonstrated | Licensed assay | Scheduled (government) | Planned | Award | Policy ledger | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Centrus American Centrifuge Plant, PiketonCentrus Energy (American Centrifuge Operating) · USA · siteThe only US company with demonstrated commercial-scale HALEU output as of September 2026. Also holds a DOE deconversion contract (counted once, on the deconversion row). | Enrichment | HALEU | more than 1,900 kgUas of 2026-06 | 19.75% | — | ~12 tU/yrfrom 2029 | $900M | 2026-01-05 · award2024-10-17 · award | source |
| General Matter, PaducahGeneral Matter · USAAn award is funding, not capacity: the pre-2030 target is a company statement, not a regulator's. | Enrichment | HALEU | none published | — | — | no figurebefore 2030 | $900M | 2026-01-05 · award2024-10-17 · award | source |
| Global Laser Enrichment (SILEX technology)Global Laser Enrichment (Silex Systems / Cameco) · USAListed because the policy ledger carries the award; it is a technology award, not a capacity commitment. | Enrichment | HALEU | none published | — | — | — | $28M | 2026-01-05 · award | source |
| Orano Federal Services (LEU task order, comparison row)Orano · USAKept in the ledger so the three $900M task orders can be read together; it adds nothing to HALEU supply. | Enrichment | LEU | none published | — | — | — | $900M | 2026-01-05 · award2024-12-10 · award | source |
| Urenco Capenhurst (UK HALEU capability)URENCO UK · United Kingdom · siteA selection is not a licence and not output. | Enrichment | HALEU | none published | — | — | — | — | — | source |
| Urenco USA, Eunice (LEU+, boundary row)URENCO USA · USA · siteShows where the only large US commercial enricher's licence stops. | Enrichment | LEU+ | none published | 5.5% | — | — | — | — | source |
| DOE HALEU Availability Program (downblended government HEU)US Department of Energy · USAThe whole program through June 2026 is 21 tonnes; a single large fast reactor's first core needs roughly that much. | Downblending (government HEU) | HALEU | none published | — | 21 tUby 2026-06 | — | — | 2025-04-09 · procurement2025-08-26 · procurement | source |
| DOE HALEU deconversion counterparties (BWXT, Centrus, Framatome, GE Vernova, Orano, Westinghouse)US Department of Energy (six counterparties) · USADeconversion turns HALEU UF6 into the oxide or metal that fuel makers can use; a company can be in this stage without being in enrichment. | Deconversion (UF6 to oxide or metal) | HALEU | none published | — | — | — | $800M | 2024-10-08 · award | source |
| TRISO-X fuel fabrication facility, Oak RidgeTRISO-X (X-energy) · USA | Fuel fabrication | HALEU | none published | — | — | — | — | — | source |
Enrichment facilities
million SWU per year; every figure with its basis and the date it was read from the source| Facility | Bloc | Status | Capacity (M SWU/yr) | Basis | Planned addition | Max assay | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| URENCO AlmeloURENCO Nederland · Netherlands | Western | Operating | 5.40 | nameplateReal2025 table · read 2026-10-06 | — | — | source |
| URENCO GronauURENCO Deutschland · Germany | Western | Operating | 3.70 | nameplateReal2025 table · read 2026-10-06 | — | — | source |
| URENCO CapenhurstURENCO UK · United Kingdom | Western | Operating | 4.50 | nameplateReal2025 table · read 2026-10-06 | stated, no figure | — | source |
| URENCO USA (UUSA), EuniceURENCO USA · USA | Western | Expanding | 4.70 | nameplateReal2025 table · read 2026-10-06 | +0.700by 2025 | 5.5% | source |
| Orano Georges Besse II (Tricastin)Orano · France | Western | Expanding | 7.50 | nameplateReal2025 table · read 2026-10-06 | +2.50by 2028 | — | source |
| Centrus American Centrifuge Plant, PiketonCentrus Energy (American Centrifuge Operating) · USA | Western | Operating | Not disclosed | demonstrated output only (see the HALEU ledger) | stated, no figure | 19.75%HALEU licensed | source |
| JNFL Rokkasho Enrichment PlantJapan Nuclear Fuel Limited (JNFL) · Japan | Western | Operating | 0.075 | nameplateRealread 2026-10-06 | +0.300by 2027 | — | source |
| Urals Electrochemical Integrated Plant (UEIP), NovouralskTVEL (Rosatom) · Russia | Russia | Operating | 13.3 | WNA assessmentEstimated2025 table · read 2026-10-06 | — | — | source |
| Electrochemical Plant (ECP), ZelenogorskTVEL (Rosatom) · Russia | Russia | Operating | 7.90 | WNA assessmentEstimated2025 table · read 2026-10-06 | — | — | source |
| Siberian Chemical Combine Enrichment (SChE), SeverskTVEL (Rosatom) · Russia | Russia | Operating | 3.80 | WNA assessmentEstimated2025 table · read 2026-10-06 | — | — | source |
| Angarsk Electrolysis Chemical Combine (AECC)TVEL (Rosatom) · Russia | Russia | Operating | 2.60 | WNA assessmentEstimated2025 table · read 2026-10-06 | — | — | source |
| CNNC Hanzhong (Shaanxi) Enrichment PlantCNNC · China | China | Expanding | in national total | — | — | — | source |
| CNNC Lanzhou Enrichment PlantCNNC · China | China | Expanding | in national total | — | — | — | source |
| INB Resende Enrichment PlantIndústrias Nucleares do Brasil (INB) · Brazil | Other | Expanding | Not disclosed | — | — | — | source |
CNNC national total (China): 10.0 M SWU/yr, WNA assessment Estimated (2025 table), covering 2 sites whose split is not published; WNA estimate 17 M SWU/yr by 2030. source
Conversion facilities
tU per year (as UF6); every figure with its basis and the date it was read from the source| Facility | Bloc | Status | Capacity (tU/yr) | Basis | Planned addition | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cameco Port Hope Conversion FacilityCameco · Canada | Western | Operating | 12,500 | licensedRealread 2026-10-06 | — | source |
| ConverDyn Metropolis WorksConverDyn (Honeywell) · USA | Western | Operating | 7,000 | licensedRealread 2026-10-06 | +8,000no date published | source |
| Orano MalvésiOrano · France | Western | Operating | counted at Orano Philippe Coste (Pierrelatte/Tricastin) | — | — | source |
| Orano Philippe Coste (Pierrelatte/Tricastin)Orano · France | Western | Operating | 15,000 | nameplateRealread 2026-10-06 | — | source |
| Siberian Chemical Combine Conversion (Seversk)SGChE (TVEL/Rosatom) · Russia | Russia | Operating | 12,500 | WNA assessmentEstimatedread 2026-10-06 | — | source |
| CNNC Lanzhou Conversion PlantCNNC · China | China | Operating | in national total | — | — | source |
| CNNC Hengyang Conversion Plant (Plant 272)CNNC · China | China | Operating | in national total | — | — | source |
CNNC national total (China): 15,000 tU/yr, WNA assessment Estimated, covering 2 sites whose split is not published. source
Conversion and SWU prices
Not yet tracked. This card will carry the site's own banked UF6 conversion and SWU indications once the fuel-cycle price tracker starts recording them; no placeholder figures are shown, and no UxC, TradeTech or NUEXCO indicator will ever appear here. Until then, the SWU guide explains how enrichment is priced.
Methodology
- What a capacity figure is
- capacityBasis says what a capacity figure is: licensed (a regulator's limit), nameplate (the operator's published design capacity), assessed (a WNA assessment of a state operator that publishes no figure; rendered as estimated), demonstrated (output actually produced, used where no capacity is published). capacityYear is the source table's own year column where the source gives one; capacityAsOf is the date the figure was read from the source. A null capacity with capacityCoveredBy names the sibling site or the national total that carries the figure (Orano Malvesi is counted at Philippe Coste; CNNC sites are counted in the national totals in data/fuel-cycle-requirements.json); a null capacity without it is an undisclosed site and is counted as such, never estimated. plannedAddition* fields are additions on top of the built figure, never summed into it.
- Blocs
- western = facilities and reactors in NATO or EU member states, the United Kingdom, Japan, South Korea, Australia and Switzerland; russia = the Russian Federation; china = the People's Republic of China; other = everything else (Kazakhstan, India, Brazil, Argentina, Pakistan, Iran, Ukraine, Belarus, Armenia, Bangladesh, Egypt, Mexico, South Africa, the UAE, Uzbekistan). The rule is institutional, not political: Ukraine is 'other' because it is in neither NATO nor the EU.
- Known totals and undisclosed sites
- A bloc's known capacity is the sum of disclosed site figures for operating, expanding and under-construction sites, plus a cited national total where the source publishes no site split (China). A site with no figure of its own is listed as not disclosed and counted in the "undisclosed" tally, never estimated. Totals that include a WNA assessment of a state operator (Rosatom, CNNC) are labelled estimated rather than real. The world total of known enrichment capacity here is 63.5 M SWU/yr against the WNA world figure of 62.9 M SWU/yr for 2025; the difference is site-level rounding in the published table.
- Planned additions
- Planned capacity is an addition on top of the built figure, drawn as a hatched extension and listed with the year the operator or WNA gives, and never added into the built total. Where the source states an expansion without a figure (Capenhurst HALEU, General Matter) the row says so and contributes nothing to the planned bar.
- Reactor requirements
- Conversion requirement = reactor uranium requirements in tU for the year, summed by bloc. Pressurized heavy-water reactors load natural uranium as UO2 rather than UF6, so the figure overstates UF6 demand by the CANDU share; it is shown as a reference marker, not a balance. Enrichment requirement = reactor uranium requirements in tU, treated as enrichment feed, multiplied by the separative work per kilogram of feed at the stated product and tails assays (site mass balance, src/lib/enrichment.ts). No allowance is made for natural-uranium reactors, enricher underfeeding or re-enriched tails, so the figure is a modeled reference marker with its assumptions printed, not a published demand number. At 4.5% product and 0.22% tails the mass balance gives 0.8416 SWU per kg of feed, so the 2025 world requirement marker is 58.0 M SWU/yr on 68,920 tU of reactor requirements. Country requirements come from the WNA reactor table the nuclear map uses.
- HALEU ledger
- HALEU supply ledger: one row per program or supplier at each stage between a centrifuge and a loadable core (enrichment, downblending, deconversion, fabrication). Demonstrated output, licensed limits, scheduled government material and planned capacity are four different numbers and are never summed. Seeded from the site's HALEU supply guide (verified 2026-09-17) and the policy ledger; every figure carries the document it came from. Rows with no public figure carry null, never an estimate. Demonstrated kilograms, licensed assay, government-scheduled tonnes and planned tonnes per year sit in separate columns and are never summed, because an award is funding, a licence is a permission and a schedule is a promise; only delivered kilograms are fuel. Every program's policy-ledger entries are linked by id. The demand figure beside the ledger is the SMR fuel-demand model's base-case HALEU product in 2035, badged modeled.
- Prices
- The prices card reads only the site’s own banked UF6 conversion and SWU observations and shows "not yet tracked" until the fuel-cycle price tracker records them. No UxC, TradeTech or NUEXCO indicator is ingested, stored or shown anywhere on the site.
- Source access
- Capacity figures were read from the WNA conversion and enrichment pages on 2026-10-06 and carried into this page from the facility dataset; HALEU rows were verified on 2026-10-22 against the documents linked on each row. Figures are refreshed by re-reading those pages, not by estimation.
See the site-wide methodology for provenance labels, the HALEU supply guide for the stage-by-stage reading of the ledger, and the SWU guide for the feed and tails mass balance behind the requirement marker.
Bloc labels: Western, Russia, China, Other. Country shares of the same data feed the supply chain diagram on /nuclear.
Cite this page
Using our data in an article or report? Please credit Yellowcake Analytics with a link.
Yellowcake Analytics. "Enrichment and Conversion Capacity by Bloc, with the HALEU Ledger." Yellowcake Analytics, 2026, https://www.yellowcakeanalytics.com/enrichment.
<a href="https://www.yellowcakeanalytics.com/enrichment">Enrichment and Conversion Capacity by Bloc, with the HALEU Ledger</a> — Yellowcake Analytics (www.yellowcakeanalytics.com)
The weekly uranium brief
Spot moves, SPUT flows, filings, and contract news, once a week. Plus a free daily CSV of our uranium equity screener snapshot.